The Catch-22 of “Experience”

Hey guys! After wrapping up my internship at EA and taking a few weeks off, my search for the elusive “grown-up job” continues.  Here’s some thoughts on the bumps in the road so far.

One of the most frustrating things about job searching is not having the “experience” the employer wants.  I’m sure many of you have been rejected on this count, or not considered at all.  I know I have.

The worst thing is when you apply for jobs  specifically listed as entry level positions, and still get told you don’t have enough experience.  I’m sorry, do people know what “entry level” means? I should know–it is right there in the title of my blog–so let me spell it out for you:

Entry level means that you’ve NEVER HAD a job like this before and probably DON’T have all kinds of good experience.  Just a degree, a wish and a prayer.

(This is where the “angst” part of my blog title comes in.)

So…it can seem like a paradox of hopelessness and despair.  But, good news! there are several things you can do in this situation.

1) Post-grad internships. (Especially paid ones!) Best case scenario: it turns into an awesome, permanent job. If not, at least you’ve added to your resume and list of references.  Even though I wasn’t able to stay at EA after mine, I got a lot out of it…and probably wouldn’t have landed my next interviews otherwise!

2) Freelancing. At least for some industries, this is the recession-proof way to find work. Even if they can’t budget for a new permanent hire, a lot of employers still have projects that need done by someone.  I’ve never tried it myself but I have stumbled on some freelancing sites, including: Media Bistro’s Freelance Marketplace, Elance, People Per Hour, even Craigslist‘s “Gigs” section.

My advice is to look at online reviews  of the site from other users, and if you see something on there that looks good, go for it!

3) Temping. With this option you’ll get to be less choosy about the work you end up doing, but you’re more likely to keep earning steady paychecks.  There are also temp agencies specifically geared towards certain industries.  For example, Politemps is an agency for political and PR professionals in the DC area.

Like internships, this can sometimes turn into a permanent position–just look how well it turned out for Ryan Howard from The Office!

4) Take related classes.  Not necessarily grad school–although that is always an option if you feel it’ll help, and if you have the time and money.  Otherwise, you can help build your skills simply by enrolling in evening or online classes.  Oftentimes, completing a course to gain a certain skill can substitute for related work experience.

5) Flip burgers or fold t-shirts.  Guys, there is no shame in this: you’ve got to earn money somehow.  If other options don’t work out, at least you’re still getting experience dealing with customers, coworkers, and management–this is key for any job.

Also, your future employer won’t like huge gaps in your employment history.  In other words, they’d prefer that you’ve done something with your time besides sitting on the couch, eating Doritos and crying.

CAUTION: be sure to leave time and energy for continuing the “real” job search.  Maybe just work weekends and evenings, for example, so you don’t miss out on opportunities to apply and interview for your dream job.

6) Find a sugar daddy/momma. Okay, maybe not the kind of “experience” employers are usually looking for.  But at least you won’t have to worry about job hunting anymore!!

That’s all we have time for today, folks. It’s time for me to ditch the empty chip bags, dry my tears, and get back to my own job search.

PS. I’d love any feedback you guys have–especially on the tips and advice I’ve given!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment